March 13th – Don’t look at me, I’m hideous!

Triatominae

There’s no other way to describe the Assassin bug other than hideous. They aren’t exactly blessed with looks, but their functional proboscis does everything required of it – pierces its prey which it ambushes in the plants around your garden.

Interestingly enough it’s also referred to as a Kissing Bug. You take your pick, but I know what I’d rather refer to it as.

This fully grown specimen was found in my garden waste bin. After pulling apart some of the shrubs in our garden last week, it was interesting to see how everyone in their had settled into their new homes. Yep – there will be more macro in the coming days.

2 thoughts on “March 13th – Don’t look at me, I’m hideous!

Leave a Reply

