March 1st – Exposed and Explored: Princes Pier II

Princes Pier B/W *Explored*

4″, f10, ISO 100

I chose to process this photo yesterday because it was significantly over-exposed, and it gave me a chance to work with something a little unusual. With so much bright-white, I had already decided it would end up black and white.

I personally love how it shows just how many of these former Pier pylons there are, as they reach out to the undefined horizon.

I was toying with the idea of leaving some colour in the photo, in which the only discernible colour was the blue-green water. It was quite a nice effect. Perhaps another time …..

So as it happens, I was tossing up which variant of Princes Pier I should post today, and then Flickr made up my mind for me, and my phone started receiving a stream of notifications while in a meeting today.

At this very moment this photo is being paraded around Flickr’s “Explored” gallery, where the top 500 uploads of the past 24 hours are grouped. There’s something in this photo that impressed the Flickr algorithm gods.

This photo was taken quite literally moments after the sun had dipped below the horizon. Despite the gloomy twilight to our eyes, your average camera sensor can still detect quite a lot of light.

 

Leave a Reply

