January 12th – Do spiders get hayfever?

St Andrews sinus test

This St Andrew’s Cross Spider sits in her web which has been recently showered with a fine pollen from trees in our neighbouring yard.

There is little more I fear during an Aussie summer than when the neighbourhood Casuarina trees start spreading their pollen.

These trees go to seed a couple of times a year, when the ends of their spindly leaves turn orange and coats everything in our courtyard with a fine orange mist. I only tend to notice once my eyes are burning and my skin is itchy.

The result is what I refer to, as casual a sinus sufferer, the Orange Death.

It’s bad enough when my eyes are watering, imagine the discomfort if you had 4 pairs of eyes.

 

Leave a Reply

