September 4th – All in the name of nature

Nesting

I was going about my own duties (macro’ing a mystery insect) when I realised I was being shouted at. I stopped what I was doing and realised I was being watched.

Despite having to mime “Talk To The Animals” as a 10 year old, it didn’t take long to work out that I was encroaching on the activities of a Noisy Miner (Manorina melanocephala).

The cheeky so-and-so (this is a PG-rated blog) was tearing up our basketball net and taking the strands for their nest. I felt a sense of duty, knowing that we were benefitting another generation of native fauna.

That was quickly followed by a sense of annoyance, knowing a trip to The Tennis Ranch was now required.

Needless to say, the above photo was taken with my Canon 100mm macro, which in it’s own right is a fantastic quality prime lens.

Leave a Reply

