March 2nd – The Crescent

The Crescent at Johnston St

The popular and busy intersection of The Crescent and Johnston St at Rozelle Bay. This is another instance where I had the shot I wanted in mind, it was a matter of seeing if reality could do my Minds Eye some justice.

The feature was going to be the Light Trail of the Light Rail (see what I did there?) crossing the bridge above the traffic below, and if possible capture as much of the famous wall art along the brick retaining wall.

I parked the car at the entrance of nearby Federal Park, grabbed my gear and began walking back to The Crescent to find my spot.

Clickety-clack, clickety-clack, clickety-clack…..

Ok, missed one chance for the tram. There’ll be one going the other way in abo… Clickety-clack, clickety-clack……

Within about a dozen footsteps I had missed my first opportunity. I set up and waited just about as long as you can to see another tram roll past, taking a few traffic shots to make sure I had the settings right and framed what I wanted from the shot.

And just as it happened 20 minutes earlier, they both came within about 30 seconds of each other.

This photo was a 10 second exposure (for some nice long trails) at f10, ISO 100. The truth is the photo is perhaps a little too busy to find the MLR light trail (I’m resisting typing the previous phrase again!), and there’s not enough of the wall art to be a feature.

But light trail photo’s are always mesmerising.

Leave a Reply

