February 3rd – What the hell are you staring at?

What the hell are you starin' at?

I caught this mantis going for a walk along the car bonnet. Yes I know, it could probably do with a wash (the car, not the insect). Besides, the mantis was busy preening itself anyway.

I can’t nail down an exact species, there are literally thousands. The eyes are the giveaway. I took so more, less cantankerous looking photo’s of this guy too.

But once nature has produce a remarkable set of eyes. With its forelegs crossed it looks like it packs a fair amount of attitude.

This photo was trickier than recent macro’s, as my new friend kept walking towards me, making focus rather difficult (remembering millimetres are the difference from good to useless in macro).

When reviewing this photo, the first thing that popped into my mind was the catchphrase of Duckman, the “hero” in the 1990’s animated TV comedy featuring Jason Alexander (George Constanza, as the voice of Duckman), Dweezil Zappa (son of legendary rocker Frank), and Nancy Travis (Married with Children).

Unlike many of my insect models, this creature had better things to do. It’s not all grumpiness though, my friend had time for a quick smile before taking flight.

Smiling Mantis

2 thoughts on “February 3rd – What the hell are you staring at?

Leave a Reply

