January 17th – Afternoon soak

A brief shower

Asked a week ago I would have told you this flower was “… some sort of daisy”. I’ve learned much since then, I now think it might be “…. some sort of Gazania”.

One characteristic of the Gazania is it’s a hardy perennial, and after 6 productive months in our garden I would only agree.

I’m a big fan of water beads on flowers, and the application of water to flowers is a photographic technique in itself. I used the popular “7 year old with hose” technique, and it seems to have worked pretty well.

While Google’ing around for this post, I came across this terrific guide for producing photo’s of flowers. I take particular interest in the “sweet spot” for lenses – in the above case I’ve used f8, which is my preferred for these sorts of photo’s.

The camera is mounted on my small Katmandu mini-tripod. Again – it’s very hard to get everything stable hand-held at this distance.

Leave a Reply

