January 16th – Cloud catcher

Cloud Factory

Today I went for a walk (scooter) around the north-eastern part of the city. With a little time to spare before work, I ended up at the State Library of New South Wales, and the entrance to the Botanic Gardens.

While photographing the State Library from a few different angles (I love the orange sandstone), it was Chifley Tower 90 degrees to my right that caught my eye.

I’m familiar with the look of this tower, but usually from it’s footing looking directly skyward. I hadn’t considered the other perspective would look as appealing. The most remarkable thing is how Chifley Tower has no immediate neighbours.

But the way it has caught and reflected the clouds was eye-catching, giving the impression that I was looking straight through the building.

I would have loved the extra time for enter the Botanic Gardens, but no matter how I tried to justify it, it will have to keep for another time.

Leave a Reply

