July 6th – Spiderlings

Hatchlings

I noticed this ‘pod’ near the washing line a few days ago. I suspected then what I now know – a spiders egg sac.

I’ve no idea which species or even how many more are to come, but I’ve captured maybe half of the spiderlings in my photo. The sac itself isn’t large, a little larger than the finger nail on your pinky-finger.

I suspect (hope?) they are nothing more than Daddy Long-legs. But I’m not about to hang around and find out either. With a house-wide pest inspection overdue, I’ll probably come in with a pre-emptive Mortein strike tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

