June 20th – K.I.S.S.

All Smiles

One of the simplest plans to live by is the K.I.S.S. method – Keep It Simple, Stupid.

The first 3 months of this photographic project has been about discovery. Subjects, techniques, processing and more. It’s been a really fun and rewarding journey to-date.

Being a golfer at heart, at some stage my attention was going to turn to hardware purchases. Spurred on by a recent macro lens purchase, I was gobsmacked at how a relatively small investment results in a rewarding photographic experience.

It’s like flushing your new Driver down the middle of the 1st fairway – it’s an addiction that is very personal and extremely rewarding.

Anyone into Canon hardware has no doubt looked, even fleetingly, at the prospect of the 70-200mm “L” lens. I have been fortunate enough to borrow the 70-200mm f4 L from my brother. It’s a beautiful lens (as this portrait suggests), however it’s not that simple.

It’s a jarring reminder to K.I.S.S.

So basically, June 20th will go down as the day I didn’t take any photo’s. It was a tricky day with an 11th hour change of plans, but  trying to walk around with a purposes-specific lens and make it work for me isn’t a great modus operandi.

What I can deduce is that I don’t particularly need such a superior telephoto … yet.

Leave a Reply

