May 28th – Fun in the sun

Beach frolic

Something I’ve taken to heart is how I look at photos, both as they are taken and when looking to tweak and edit.

Early on I was quite unsure about how to make a good black and white image, or rather how to make an image black and white. My first attempt was this abandoned train tunnel in the NSW Northern Rivers.

Despite having learned the controls of iPhoto and Aperture, at the time I felt like I was embarking on something entirely foreign.

I’ve used black and white selectively since, and I’ve always been pleased with the outcomes. It’s really a powerful, emotive medium.

Fast forward to May 28th and I believe I know a black and white candidate when I see one.

Still in Fiji, there is a number of ways to use the late afternoon light. I’m quite fond of this pic, the central figure is anonymous in silhouette which was my intent.

Leave a Reply

